WFMC Specific Awards

Wisconsin Federation of Music Clubs is honored to have several awards that are ‘named.’  The awards are named to honor a past member and are funded by the family and friends of that member. These awards, or scholarships, are available to members who meet the application criteria. Applications are found under the name of the award in this website. As updates are made for these annual awards they will be posted so that you may prepare your application.

Donations are gladly accepted for these awards, if you wish to do so. Contact our WFMC Treasurer, Susan Daniels in order to donate or fund an award of your own!

Awards in the WFMC include:

Apple for the Teacher (A $500 Award given to qualified music teachers nominated by a WFMC Senior Club Member, funds go to meeting music classroom needs and/or instrument purchases, tuning or repair.)

WFMC Announces Apple for the Teacher Recipients 2019

Cathy Paquette, chair of the Apple for the Teacher Award is happy to announce the following ten awards for 2019:

Kailey Hilby of Silver Lake Intermediate School in Oconomowoc

Julie M Engman of Elizabeth Ann Seton Catholic School in Sheboygan

Benjamin Warrichaiet of Clarendon Avenue Elementary in Mukwonago

Anne Weirich of St. Mary School in Janesville

Amie Beeman of County Line Elementary in Germantown

Kevin Poston of Atonement Lutheran School in Milwaukee

Jessica May of Roosevelt Elementary School in Janesville

Rose Frohna of St. Jerome Parish School in Oconomowoc

Jeanne Marie Stalteri of St. Charles Catholic School in Hartland

Cheryl Miracle of Forest Park Middle School in Franklin

*WFMC Apple Award Application 2019

Ruth Kreuser Scholarship – (award given to a qualified candidate for the continuation of musical studies.)

Ruth Kreuser Music Scholarship 2019 Awarded

Niyati and piano teacher Olga Fillus

Congratulations to Niyati Hansaria, a piano student of Olga Fillus of the Lake Country Music Club. Niyati has been studying piano, viola, and composition. She is a sophmore at Brookfield Central High School where she has been active in their symphony and chamber orchestras.

She was a WSMA State finalist in 2018 for viola, a WFMC State first place medalist in 2018 in piano, and a Wisconsin Piano Arts Festival finalist in 2017 and 2018 for piano. In April Niyati will be performing as a principal violist at Carnegie Hall in New York City for her school chamber orchestra.

We wish Niyati well as she continues her studies in music and music composition. The $500 Ruth Kreuser Music Scholarship will help her in her efforts to share with others the love and appreciation of music.

*Ruth Kreuser Application 2019

Peggy Radmer Music Scholarship ‘I Love Music’

The WFMC is happy to announce that Isabella Volk of Menomonee Falls is our 2019 Peggy Radmer Music Scholarship recipient, Cathy Paquette, Chair of the award stated.

Isabella has been a violin student of Celestine Fitzgerald, member of the Wisconsin Independent Senior Club, for the past 13 years. Inspired by her older sister’s ‘beautiful melodies’ from her violin, Isabella begged her parents to allow her to learn to play too. Then began her love and dedication to learn to play the best she could! For Isabella, “life without music would be as meaningless as math without numbers.”

Celestine states that she has had the unique opportunity to see Isabella grow from a little girl to an enthusiastic, determined, caring young lady. Isabella exhibits a quiet dedication to learning and excellence, meeting all new musical challenges with energy and an amazing work ethic.

Isabella also received praise from her English teacher, Ms. Alison Leon at Menomonee Falls High School. Alison states that Isabella consistently demonstrates a commitment to education and is dedicated to volunteerism and works hard to make her high school and commuity a better place to learn and live.

Isabella is a member of her schools National Honor Society, National German Honor Society, and the National Science Honor Society. She plans to use her scholarship money towards furthering her education at UW-Madison where she will study computer engineering with a certificate in German. (Hopefully she will be a member of the orchestra there, she said.) Isabella radiates the type of individual deserving of this scholarship. The WFMC wishes to congratulate her in receiving this award and wishes her all the best in future endeavors.

Peggy Radmer Scholarship – (‘I Love Music’ award given to a qualified candidate, who will not be pursing a music degree, in recognition of volunteer hours given to music development in a school, church or community setting.)

*Peggy Radmer Music Scholarship 2019 Application

Senior Club Grants – (given to WFMC senior clubs who qualify for a grant in order to pursue outstanding special projects for the advancement of community music involvement, or appreciation.) Senior Club Grants due date has changed – it is September 1, 2018. Please contact the State Chair for the current form.

In reality, the more donations the WFMC receives the more students we are able to recognize with a monetary award. Please contact our WFMC Treasurer, Susan Daniels, in order to make a donation for our young musicians.

I thank you in advance for your gifts in order to fund current and future awards.     Cathy Paquette, WFMC President

updated 6/19